This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to Women's Studies " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to Women's Studies  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/introwomenstudies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Background Information on Your Social Problem: Selected Reference Sources

21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook (2007)
Location: Trexler Library Reference Collection 301 T971c v.1-2 (Level A)

Credo Reference
Location: Online (search the library catalog by title)
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society (2009)
Location: Online

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender (2001)
Location: Online (search the library catalog by title) or Trexler Library Reference Collection 305.403 E56e v.1-2 (Level A)

Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia (2004)
Location: Trexler Library Reference Collection 305.3103 K49m v.1-2 (Level A)

      

    Finding Information on Your Social Problem

    FINDING ARTICLES

    Check the Subject Guides (e.g., the Women's Studies guide or Sociology guide) for links to other recommended databases, as well as other resources.
    GETTING THERE: Library Homepage -- Subject Guides (in the Research box)

    SELECTED DATABASES TO SEARCH FOR SCHOLARLY AND POPULAR ARTICLES

    See a list of all databases via the Library Homepage  --  Databases A to Z (in the Quick Links box).

    Academic Search Complete
    Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

    ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
    Indexes journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more.

    Contemporary Women’s Issues (CWI)
    Index of popular, activist, and scholarly literature in women’s studies.

    LexisNexis Academic
    Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.

    Sociological Abstracts
    Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.


    GETTING THE ARTICLES

    1. When searching for articles in library databases, you may find the full-text of an article linked in the database.
    2. If not, you need to search the Trexler Library Catalogto see if we own the journal in which the article is published.
      • Most databases have a Check for Full Text buttons embedded. Click the link to check our holdings.
      • Otherwise, search the catalog by journal title or by ISSN. Verify that we have online, print, or microform access to the year/volume you need.
    3. If we do not own the journal you need, request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
      • Some databases have a Request on Interlibrary Loan link embedded. Click the link to fill out the form. Click Submit.
      • Otherwise, use the Interlibrary Loan Journal Article Request Form (Library Homepage  --  Interlibrary Loan (in the Quick Links box)  --  Articles request form). Fill out the form with as much information as possible. Ask for help, if you have questions.
        

      Finding Information on Your Social Problem

      FINDING BOOKS

      TREXLER LIBRARY

      Search the Trexler Library Catalog to find out what books, government publications, journals, videos, etc. the library owns.

      GETTING THERE: Use the shortcut search box on the Library Homepage or Library Homepage  --  Library Catalogs (in the Quick Links box)  --  Trexler Library Catalog

      OTHER LIBRARIES

      WorldCat. To find books held by other libraries, search WorldCat, a database of over 60 million library records from around the country and world. Use the ILL button to request a book from another library. (ILL can take 10-14 days.)

      GETTING THERE: Library Homepage  --  Library Catalogs (in Quick Links box)  --  Other Library Catalogs -- WorldCat

          

        Need help with your research?

        Contact:

        Jen Jarson
        Social Sciences Reference Librarian
        email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu
        phone: x3552
        IM: jjarson1 (for AIM and Yahoo; add @hotmail.com for MSN)

        Need help after hours?
        IM the Library at TalkToTrexler (for AIM and Yahoo; add @hotmail.com for MSN)
        Online Sunday-Thursday 2pm-10pm.
        See Ask a Librarian for more information.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip