This is the "Home" page of the "International Political Economy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Political Economy  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/ipe Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference and Statistical Materials

Europa world year book (Taylor and Francis)
Location: Online or search library catalog by title

International financial statistics yearbook (International Monetary Fund)
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 332 I61f

International financial statistics: Country notes (International Monetary Fund)
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 332 I61fc

Statistical yearbook (United Nations)
Location: Online or search library catalog by title

Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific (United Nations)
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 315 S797y

United Nations data
Location: Online

World Bank data
Location: Online

World development indicators (World Bank)
Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 330.91 W927d

      

    Finding Articles: Indexes and Databases

    CURRENT EVENTS / NEWS

    LexisNexis Academic
    A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts from around the world, including Bangladesh.  Full text is linked directly in the database

    Mondo Times -- the Worldwide News Media Guide, Bangladesh
    Links to local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.  

    SCHOLARLY

    Subject-Specific Databases: Political Science

    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
    A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    PAIS
    Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Subject-Specific Databases: Related Disciplines

    EconLit
    Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, working papers, conference papers, and more in economics. Especially useful for research on a country's economic policies, development issues, and trade. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Sociological Abstracts
    Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Relevant subjects covered: community development, culture and social structure, demography and human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, and women's studies. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Interdisciplinary Databases

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including political science. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    JSTOR
    A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    Omnifile
    A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        
       

      Getting the Full Text of Articles

      To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

      - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

      - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      Selected Books: NGOs and Bangladesh

      Bangladesh : promise and performance (Jahan)
      Location: Main Collection 954.9205 B216p

      Civil society by design: donors, NGOs, and the intermestic development circle in Bangladesh (Stiles)
      Location: Main Collection 306.095492 S856c

      Country report. Bangladesh (Economist Intelligence Unit)
      Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 330.95492 C855r (MOST RECENT EDITION ON RESERVE)

      Freedom from want: The remarkable success story of BRAC, the global grassroots organization that's winning the fight against poverty (Smillie)
      Location: Main Collection 362.557 S641f

      Global corruption report. (Transparency International)
      Location: Online or search library catalog by title or 324.66 G562c for print

      Supporting citizens' initiatives: Bangladesh's NGOs and society (Holloway)
      Location: Main Collection 306.095492 H745s

          

        Selected Websites

        THINK TANKS, INSTITUTES, AND PRESSURE GROUPS

        UNITED NATIONS

        IMF / WORLD BANK / ADB

        DONOR COUNTRIES

        UNITED STATES

        BANGLADESH GOVERNMENT

        NGOs

        Southern NGOs

        Northern NGOs

            

          Citing Your Sources

          • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
            Location: Online or search Encompass Search by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
          • Zotero
            "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
              

            Need Help with Your Research?

            Contact:

            Jen Jarson
            Social Sciences Reference Librarian
            phone: 484-664-3552
            email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip