This is the "Home" page of the "Islam in America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Islam in America  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/islamamerica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      How do I locate websites with varying viewpoints on my topic--that are not news sites?

      • Google
      • Wikipedia
        Bibliography can be useful as a guide to varied websites on a topic.

      How do I locate news articles on my topic?

      • Academic Search Complete
        A subscription database. Good starting place for magazines such as Newsweek, Time, and People.
      • LexisNexis Academic
        News archive (newspaper, newswires, and news transcripts), updated daily, from around the world. Includes New York Times, London Times, and selected Middle Eastern sources published in English. Includes many local papers as well.

      How do I locate scholarly articles on my topic?

      • Encyclopedia of Religion
        Published by an academic press. Available by library subscription.
      • Encyclopaedia of the Qur'┬»an
        Trexler Library Reference 297.12203 E56o
        Academic press.
      • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
        Academic press.
      • Academic Search Complete
        Limit to "peer reviewed" or "academic journals" to get at the scholarly journals.
      • ATLA Religion
        Specific to religion studies. Use caution here: not all sources included here are scholarly.
      • JSTOR
        Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
      • Sage Journals Online
        All full text. All academic. Covers many of the social sciences including studies of popular culture.

      How do I locate scholarly books on my topic?

      • Google Books
        Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan to acquire the full text.
      • WorldCat
        Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan to acquire the full text.

      Is there resource to help in discerning the politics of a given periodical?

      Citing sources and compiling an annotated bibliography

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

      For help in writing annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for a definition of an annotation and samples using APA and MLA styles.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

      Writing a source review:

      One strategy for writing a source review is to think of it as an amplified annotation, employing the organization described here.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip