Last Updated: Feb 21, 2017
Humanities & Business Librarian
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Academic Search Complete
Limit to "peer reviewed" or "academic journals" to get at the scholarly journals.
- ATLA Religion
Specific to religion studies. Use caution here: not all sources included here are scholarly.
- Encompass Search (advanced)
An umbrella search across multiple databases.
- Google Scholar
Not specific to religion studies, but expansive in coverage, with some full text linkage, especially when searched on campus with access to JSTOR, etc.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
- Sage Journals Online
All full text. All academic. Covers many of the social sciences including studies of popular culture.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexing of scholarly articles in sociology.
- Click on the author's name in any database to see what topics are of interest to them.
Google the name of the journal to see how it describes itself.
- Google Scholar
Allows tracking of both the author's influence and the influence of an article.
- UlrichsWeb Periodicals Directory
This resource reviews most periodicals and may include a statement on political orientation or other bias.
For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.
For help in writing annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for samples using APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.