This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to International Studies (Herrick)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to International Studies (Herrick)  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/ist101 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tools for Developing Topic Ideas

NEWS

BBC News: World

Google News: World

Mondo Times -- the Worldwide News Media Guide
Links to local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.

New York Times

Washington Post

COUNTRY INFORMATION

Europa World Yearbook
Information by country on a variety of topics, including: contemporary political history, constitution and government, economic affairs, and more.

Political Handbook of the World
Information by country on a variety of topics, including: government and politics, constitution, foreign affairs, political and opposition parties, and more.

OTHER

Credo Reference
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for political science. Full text is linked directly in the database.

U.S. Department of State

 

Tools for Finding Sources

SCHOLARLY, PEER-REVIEWED ARTICLES

Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library. Use the Academic Journals filter to narrow your search results to scholarly sources.

Trexler Library Subject Guides
Subject Guides point you to recommended resources in each subject area. Look for the subject area related to your research interest and then for databases recommended for that subject.

POPULAR ARTICLES

Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library. Use the Magazines and/or Newspapers filters to narrow your search results to popular sources.

LexisNexis Academic
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

GOVERNMENT SOURCES

NOTE: Take note of government agencies, government documents, and other government-related references in your scholarly and popular sources that may be helpful in directing your searching here.

NOTE: Access to government documents from other countries via these resources depends largely on how available each country makes them.  Language may prove to be another barrier.

Google

LexisNexis Academic
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database. Look for BBC Monitoring reports under News Transcripts, especially, to get translations of government press releases and other sources originating from governments.

Legal Information Institute, Law by Source: Global (Cornell University)
The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.

WashLaw Web: Foreign and International Law (Washburn University School of Law Library)
Links to foreign and international legal resources and research tools. It's especially strong on finding legal materials from specific countries

World Legal Information Institute
Links to constitutions, laws, treaties, international agreements, and related resources by country.

WEBSITES

NOTE: Take note of organizations mentioned in your scholarly and popular sources that may be helpful in directing your searching here.

Google

 

Citing Your Sources

For information on using Chicago Style, see the Political Science Subject Guide: Citations tab.

Need Help with Your Research?

Contact:

Jen Jarson
Social Sciences Reference Librarian
phone: 484-664-3552
email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip