Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.
- Google Books
May include excerpts of full text, especially of books now in the public domain (published pre-1923).
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
- Project Muse
Recent archive of journals from a number of academic presses.
- America History & Life
A subscription database. Standard index for American history. Some full text.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for European history. Some full text.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
A subscription database. Standard index for scholarship on Jewish religion and culture. Some full text.
Free index of scholarship on Jewish religion and culture.
Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.
- Google Scholar
An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator (see above) to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
Judah ben Solomon Hai Alkalai
Zevi Hirsch Kalischer
M.L. Lillienblum, Lilienblum
Aaron David Gordon, Aharon David Gordon, A.D. Gordon
Samuel Mohilewer, Mohliver, Mohilever
Yehiel Michael Pines, Mikhal
Abraham Isaac Kook
Jakob Klatzkin, Jacob