Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Newly revised and online, well-respected resource complete with recommended readings for further study.
- Encyclopedia of Mexico
Available by library subscription. Signed articles written by leading scholars in the field. Great for topic narrowing and for identifying the most important articles and books on a subject.
- International Encyclopedia of Dance
Nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance--theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Many authors have placed their works in Google Books as a way to increase exposure and hopefully sell more copies of their works. Any full text that appears may not be easy to extract or manipulate, and often only snippets are available for viewing online. Use the "Find in a Library" option to "request item" on interlibrary loan (you need to be "connected to the Muhlenberg Col Libr network" to do so).
- Academic Search Complete
Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to historical research about Latin America and Spain. English and Spanish.
Interdisciplinary scholarly journals. English and Spanish.
- MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index to scholarly and popular literature in musicology, ethnomusicology, dance, and other music-related disciplines, with many links to full text.