This is the "Home" page of the "Environmental & Cultural Conservation in Latin America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental & Cultural Conservation in Latin America  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/latinamerica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Rachel Hamelers
Sciences
Phone: 484-664-3601
rhamelers@muhlenberg.edu

Jen Jarson
Social Sciences
Phone: 484-664-3552
jarson@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Getting the Articles

    When searching for articles, you may find the full-text of an article linked in the database. If not:

    • Most databases have a Check for Full Text buttons. Click the link to check our holdings.

    • If there is not a Check for Full Text buttons, search Encompass to see if we have access to the full text in print or through another database.

    If we do not have access to the article you need, request the article via Interlibrary Loan:

    • Many databases have a Request on Interlibrary Loan or Request Item link or button. Click here to fill out a request form.
    • If the database does not have an ILL link embedded, go to the Library Homepage -- Services -- Interlibrary Loan. Fill out the form. NOTE: Interlibrary Loan can take anywhere from a few day to a few weeks. Plan accordingly.
        

      Selected Reference Materials

      • Credo Reference
        Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for psychology. Full text is linked directly in the database.
      • Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
        333.9503 E56o v.1-5 (Level B)
      • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
        972.9003 E56o v.1-3 (Level C)
      • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
        Signed articles written by leading scholars in the field. Great for topic narrowing and for identifying the most important articles and books on a subject.
      • Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia
        Reference 304.2 J65i (Level B)
      • Latin America and the Caribbean: A Continental Overview of Environmental Issues
        Reference 363.70098 H655L (Level B)

      Finding Books

      • Google Books
        Search within the text of books and then click on "Find in a Library" to submit an interlibrary loan request for the complete text.

      Finding Articles: Databases & Indexes

      For subject specific databases check out the Subject Guides.

      See a list of all databases via Databases A to Z.

      • Academic Search Complete
        A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
      • GreenFile
        GreenFile's resources focus on the ways humans affect the environment, providing indexing and some full text of scholarly and general interest items. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
      • JSTOR
        A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are generally not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.
      • LexisNexis Academic
        A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

      Selected Data and Statistical Sources

      Selected Websites

      Citing Your Sources

      No matter where your information comes from, you always need to cite your sources.

      To find information about how and why to cite, including examples of the most frequently used citation styles (APA, Chicago, and MLA), go to the Cite Sources section on the Library homepage. Copies of style manuals are available at the Reference Desk in Trexler Library.

      For additional information on citation styles, see the Writer's Handbook from the University of Wisconsin--Madison: http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/Documentation.html.

      Are you interested in gathering and organizing sources as you research? Try Zotero - a research tool for managing your references. For more information on installing and using Zotero, go to https://www.zotero.org/

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip