This is the "Home" page of the "Literature & Evolution " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature & Evolution  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/litevolution Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN): refcannon
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Indexes to poetry

      • Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies
        Trexler Library level A, call # 016.81 G758c

      Primary (poetic) and secondary (critical) works as published in books

      • Google Books
        A combination of partial and complete texts. Good from primary works out of copyright (pre-1923).
      • WorldCat
        Catalog of all books and documents in Trexler Library at Muhlenberg College, plus books from other libraries that can be requested on interlibrary loan. Alternatively, use our own library catalog (just the books in our library) .
      • Encompass Search
        Catalog of all books and documents in Trexler Library at Muhlenberg College, plus books from other libraries that can be requested on interlibrary loan. Alternatively, use our own library catalog (just the books in our library) .

      Secondary research published as journal articles--often authoritative

      • Google Scholar
        An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
      • Literature Criticism Online
        A subscription database. Full text literary criticism.
      • MLA International Bibliography
        ***RECOMMENDED***
        A subscription database. Standard index for literary criticism. Some links to full text.

      Web search engines and directories

      E-texts of selected poets' works (usually pre-1923)

      Citing sources

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip