Last Updated: Aug 5, 2015
When searching for articles, you may find the full-text of an article linked in the database. If not:
- Most databases have a Check for Full Text buttons. Click the link to check our holdings.
- If there is not a Check for Full Text buttons, search Encompass to see if we have access to the full text in print or through another database.
If we do not have access to the article you need, request the article via Interlibrary Loan:
- Many databases have a Request on Interlibrary Loan or Request Item link or button. Click here to fill out a request form.
- If the database does not have an ILL link embedded, go to the Library Homepage -- Services -- Interlibrary Loan. Fill out the form. NOTE: Interlibrary Loan can take anywhere from a few day to a few weeks. Plan accordingly.
TREXLER LIBRARY and LIBRARIES WORLDWIDE
Search Encompass to find out what books, government publications, journals, videos, etc. you can access through Trexler Library, as well as to see items that other libraries own that may be accessible to you through Interlibrary Loan.
- The Journal of Medicinal Chemistry
available 1996-present through ACS journal subscription
- The Journal of the American Chemical Society
Available through American Chemical Society Web Editions, 1996-present
Access the journal Nature from 1869-1960 on microfilm (Level A of the library), 1960-present in paper journal form (Level B of the library call number 505n), or via Academic Search Complete 1997-12 months ago (selected articles only).
Access most issues of the journal Science from the years 1800-present online, or access paper copies of the journal on level B of the library at call number 505s1.
- Angewandte Chemie Int. Ed.
Indexed through the Publisher, individual articles available through Interlibrary Loan
- Biochemical Journal
available 1906-2006 freely online, newer articles indexed online available through Interlibrary Loan
A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- Academic Search Complete
Large and diverse database that covers most academic disciplines. Contains both scholarly and non-academic resources. Includes many articles in full text.
- Google Scholar
An open-access search engine that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly" on the free web. Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Be sure to check library catalog to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
Searchable collections of full-text journals across many disciplines. Contains full-text of many biology, botany, ecology journal titles. (Note: To restrict results to particular journals/disciplines, from Advanced Search screen, choose discipline category/ies.)
Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content--indexing, abstracts, and full-text--from six of Wilson's full-text databases.
- ScienceDirect College Edition Health and Life Sciences
This database includes 1000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health and life sciences. Coverage spans 1995 to the present.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to 325 reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from over 60 respected publishers across 17 major subject areas--all online, all searchable from one search box.
- UlrichsWeb Periodicals Directory
Database that provides bibliographic information, including if a journal is peer-reviewed or not, on international periodicals. It covers all subject areas.
The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information - in Ready Reference - 808.06654 A187s
Most any item not immediately available in our library or in the research databases can be requested on interlibrary loan by filling out the appropriate form for articles or books.