This is the "Home" page of the "Media Industries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Media Industries  

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/mediaindustries Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Articles

Trade Magazines

Academic Search Complete
This database contains a number of useful trade publications, but no easy way to limit to only those sources. Narrow results by Source Type to Magazines on the left sidebar of your results list to begin the weeding process.

Business Source Complete
Note that there are limit options on the left sidebar of your results list, including the option to Narrow Results by Source Type: Trade Publications.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
To narrow results to trade magazines, from the main search screen, select "trade publication" in the "publication type" menu.

LexisNexis Academic
To search only trade publications, choose the Advanced Search link in the News box.  Then choose "industry news publications" in the "by type" menu in the "select source" box.

**If you're not sure if a source you found is from a trade magazine or not, check the Ulrichs' Periodicals Directory.
To access Ulrich's, go directly to http://0-ulrichsweb.serialssolutions.com.library.muhlenberg.edu/ (or search for Ulrich's Periodicals Directory in the library catalog). Enter the name of a magazine (e.g., Advertising Age, USA Today). Select the name of the magazine from the results list. In the Basic Description section of the magazine's record, there's a "content type" field.  If it says "trade," it's meant for an industry audience and is the appropriate type of publication for this assignment.  If it says "consumer" (as in the case of USA Today, for example), it's meant for a general audience and isn't appropriate.

Scholarly Journals

Academic Search Complete
Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

Business Source Complete
Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Scholarly journals, trade journals, and monographs in the areas of communication and mass media.

Sage Journals Online
Full-text access to over 500 journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage of scholarly publications in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences.

      
     

    Getting the Full Text of Articles

    To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

    - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

    - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

    - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

    Reference Sources for Industry Research

    Communications Industry Forecast
    Location: Most recent edition (2012) -- Ready Reference  302.230684 C734i
    Location: Previous edition (2008) -- Ready Reference 302.230684 C734i
    Location: Previous edtion (2005) -- Ready Reference 302.230684 C734i

    Encyclopedia of American Industries
    Location: Online (or search the library catalog by title to access)

        

      Other Industry Research: Company Information

      Business Source Complete
      Online via Library Homepage -- Databases A to Z
      To access company profiles, use the Company Profiles tab at the top of the screen.

      Business Rankings Annual
      Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 338.74 B979r

      LexisNexis Academic
      Online via Library Homepage -- Databases A to Z
      To research particular companies, use the Get Company Info box. 

          

        Citing Your Sources

        • For information on APA Style, see:
          • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
            Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
          • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
          • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
            General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
        • Zotero
          "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
            

          Need Help with Your Research?

          Contact:

          Jen Jarson
          Social Sciences Reference Librarian
          phone: 484-664-3552
          email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip