This is the "Home" page of the "Micro - Microbiology and Microbial Pathogenesis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Micro - Microbiology and Microbial Pathogenesis  

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/micro Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search PubMed for Article Abstracts

PubMed Logo   

Host and Microbe Journals

Microbiology Journals - Reviews (mostly)

Other Journals of Note

  • Cell
    Available online with a one year delay or in the stacks from 1986-present at Per. 571.6c.
  • Nature
    Access the journal Nature from 1869-1960 on microfilm (Level A of the library), 1960-present in paper journal form (Level B of the library call number 505n), or via Academic Search Complete 1997-12 months ago (selected articles only).
  • PLoS Biology
  • PLoS Genetics
  • Science
    available in paper on level C of the library, 1966-present, citations are available through Academic Search Complete

Microbes in the News and in the Blogosphere

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Provides full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.
  • Microbiology Blogroll
    A list of blogs discussing microbiology curated by J. Eisen.
  • New York Times
    Complete access to New York Times via Muhlenberg subscription. All users must register while physically on campus, using their Muhlenberg email.
  • Science Daily
    News articles, videos, and images in the subjects of health, math, and the sciences.
  • Tree of Life Blog
    Jonathan Eisen discusses many issues on his blog, including linking to articles that he thinks oversell what we know about the microbiome.

Core Databases

  • PubMed
    A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • Science Direct, Health, Life, and Physical Sciences
    A database of 1000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences from 1995 to the present.
  • Springerlink
    Over 1,700 journals from Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law.
  • Google Scholar - Biology, Medicine, and Life Sciences
    Search the Biology, Life Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacology, and Veterinary Science sections of Google Scholar. Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

Is my article Peer-Reviewed?

Journal articles that are peer-reviewed have been critiqued by other experts before publication.

To determine if an article is peer-reviewed or not, you need to check if the journal in which the article was published is peer-reviewed. You can do this by using the database Ulrich's web. For instance, in the following citation:

Barthlott, W, Wiersch, S, Čolić, Z, & Koch, K 2009, 'Classification of trichome types within species of the water fern Salvinia, and ontogeny of the egg-beater trichomes', Botany, 87, 9, pp. 830-836.

Botany is the journal title. Using Ulrich's web, type in the name of the journal, in this case Botany. (Do NOT enter the title of the article.) If the journal is listed as "refereed" (another word for peer-reviewed), your article is in a peer-reviewed journal. Therefore, most articles in this journal will be peer-reviewed. Exceptions to peer-reviewed articles in a peer-reviewed journal include news items, commentaries, and letters to the editor.

In some databases, such as Academic Search Complete , you can click on the name of the journal and the database will list information about the journal, including if the journal is peer-reviewed or not. Other databases allow you to limit to see only results that are peer-reviewed. To determine if you can limit to peer-reviewed journals, look in the database's help section.

  • Ulrich's Web
    Ulrich's Directory is a database that provides bibliographic information, including if a journal is refereed or not (refereed is another word for peer-reviewed) on international periodicals.
 

Find Background Information on a Topic

Credo Logo

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip