This is the "Home" page of the "Music History II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music History II  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/musichistorytwo Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article, click on the Check for Full Text buttons from within any database, or visit Trexler Library website and search in Encompass on the journal title to determine if itl is available full text through our library.

        

      How do I find ideas for topic narrowing, along with bibliographies of recommended books and journal articles?

      • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (Trexler Library C level call # 780.3 N532n)
        Signed entries by experts. Authoritative source of information on composers and their music. Popular music receives less attention here.
          

        How do I find scholarly books on my subject?

        • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          Includes scholarly books on the history of music.
        • WorldCat
          Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.
        • Google Books
          Portions or full text are available for some books. Print copies may be obtain through interlibrary loan.

        How do I locate peer-reviewed journal articles?

        • Academic Search Complete
          A good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
        • America History and Life
          Available by library subscription. Good for U.S. history and culture, including popular culture, back to 1492.
        • Google Scholar
          Free resource. Some full text may be available, especially when searching from campus where library-subscribed full text is often linked directly to Google Scholar. The surest way to verify all points of Muhlenberg access to any full text is to run a journal title search in the library catalog for the article in question.
        • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
          Available by library subscription. Good for European history and culture back to 1492.
        • JSTOR
          Full text from peer-reviewed scholarly periodicals.
        • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
          ***RECOMMENDED***
          Scholarly articles on music.

        How do I locate primary source material on my topic (letters, diaries, personal websites, early reviews)

        Example

        • Google
          The web can be a rich source of primary documentation. Here is an example on Phillip Glass and his opera Satyagraha

        How do I cite sources in a bibliography?

        For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

        For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

            

          Articles via interlibrary loan

          Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip