This is the "Home" page of the "No Song Left Behind" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

No Song Left Behind  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/nosongbehind Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

A.T.

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works (good for recommending sources)

      • Credo Reference
        Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
      • The Literature of Rock
        Bibliography of reviews and critiques from 1954-1983. 3 volumes. Found in Trexler Library, level A, call # 016.784 H699l
      • New Grove Dictionary of American Music
        References scholarly and popular works. Found in Trexler Library, level C, call # 780.3 N532 1986
      • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
        The standard music reference. Extensive bibliographies. Location: Trexler Library call #780.3 N532n
      • Wikipedia
        Bibliography can point to archival sites and other sources of primary research.

      Scholarly criticism

      • America: History & Life with Full Text
        The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
      • Academic Search Complete
        Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Books
        Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
      • Google Scholar
        May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
      • RILM Abstract of Music Literature
        Index to scholarly and popular literature in musicology, ethnomusicology, dance, and other music-related disciplines. Links to full text.

      Reviews

      • All Music Guide: Pop-Rock
        For recording reviews, search for artist, click on "Discography," then title of album.

        AllMusic was launched in 1991 by Michael Erlewine of All Media Guide (later became All Media Network). The aim was to "[compile] discographic information on every artist who's made a record since Enrico Caruso gave the industry its first big boost". Its first reference book was published the following year.

        The AMG consumer web properties AllMusic.com, AllMovie.com and AllGame.com were sold by Rovi in July 2013 to All Media Network, LLC. All Media Network, LLC. was formed by the original founders of SideReel.com and Ackrell Capital.
      • Billboard
        Review finder searches for reviews published 1950s-current; click on "Reviews."
      • Billboard via Google Books
        Google books has digitized Billboard magazine issues back to 1942; in the search box enter: Billboard [artist, album, and/or year]
      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Books
        Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
      • LexisNexis Academic
        Newspapers full text 1980-present. Scant indexing from 1969-1980.
      • New York Times Archive 1923-2012 via Proquest
      • Reader's Guide Retrospective
        Theatre reviews in popular periodicals, 1890-1980.
      • Rolling Stone Index
        1967-1991. Found in Trexler Library, level C, call # 784 R754s
      • Sing Out!
        Searchable index and full text of the famous folk music magazine.

      Citing sources

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip