Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
An online collection of well-known reference books, available by library subscription.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia. Compare/contrast with the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy listed above, as well as non-scholarly resources like SparkNotes and Wikipedia (not recommended for use with this project).
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
- Business Source Complete
Available by library subscription. Largely full text database of scholarly and trade journals covering all aspects of accounting, business, and economics. Full text journals include, among many others, the Harvard Business Review (1985-present, including all cases originally published in the Review), Academy of Management Journal, Accounting Review, and Journal of Marketing. Also includes several hundred in-depth reports on publicly traded companies. To access, click on the Company Profiles tab at the top of Business Source Complete.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Archive (five year old and prior) of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Philosopher's Index
Available through library subscription. Standard journal database in philosophy.
A subscription database for psychology.
For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.
For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.