This is the "Home" page of the "Pilgrimage: Rites of Way" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pilgrimage: Rites of Way  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/pilgrimage Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Encyclopedias (good for topic-generating and recommending sources)

      • Encyclopedia of Religion
        Available by library subscription. Published by an academic press. Invited scholars. Great for bibliography.
      • Encyclopedia of Sacred Places
        Available by library subscription. Good for bibliography.
      • Wikipedia
        A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.

      Books

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Books
        Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.

      Periodical articles

      • Academic Search Complete
        A library subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • Anthropology Plus
        A library subscription database. Standard index for religious studies. Some full text.
      • ATLA Religion
        A library subscription database. Standard index for religious studies. Some full text.
      • Google Scholar
        May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
      • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
        A library subscription database. Standard index for word history. Some full text.
      • JSTOR
        A library subscription database. Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
      • Project Muse
        A library subscription database. Recent archive of journals from a number of academic presses.

      Search engines

      • Google
        Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.

      Citing sources and compiling an annotated bibliography

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip