Subject Guides: History of Psychology: Home

Muhlenberg History

COLLEGE PUBLICATIONS

Alumni magazine
Location: Muhlenberg Collection T M952a
1930-38: Muhlenberg College Alumni Quarterly
1938-54: Muhlenberg College Alumni Magazine
1955-71: Muhlenberg College News
1966-77: Muhlenberg Alumni News
1972-90: Muhlenberg
1990-96: Muhlenberg Door to Door
1989-current: Muhlenberg Magazine (1980-2008 bound; 2008-current unbound)

Ciarla
The Ciarla is the student yearbook of Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania.
Muhlenberg Weekly
Muhlenberg’s student newspaper began as the Muhlenberg Monthly, a combination literary magazine and student paper, in 1883. It continued as a monthly publication, changing title to The Muhlenberg in 1888. In 1914 the publication became a weekly and the name changed once again, to The Muhlenberg Weekly, the name it maintains today.

A History of Muhlenberg College, 1948-1967
Call Number: M.C. E H673m 1967
A History of Muhlenberg College, 1916-1962: A Monograph on the Relations of the Ministeriun of Pennsylvania to its Institutions of Higher Education During the Years 1916-1962
Call Number: 378.748 M952hist
An Informal History of Muhlenberg College: Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Tell Their Stories, 1931-2006
Call Number: 378.748 M952j
Collection of personal stories of people closely associated with Muhlenberg College over an extensive period of time. Includes interviews with alumni from 1928 though 1987, plus members of the faculty, Board of Trustees and administration who are long affiliated with the college. These stories represent selective, interpretive records of the interviews actually conducted by students, rather than a strict transcription of the interviews themselves.
Muhlenberg College. A Quarter-centennial Memorial Volume, Being a History of the College and a Record of Its Men
Call Number: 378.748 M952hi
Muhlenberg College: History of One Hundred Years, 1848-1948
Call Number: 378.748 M952his
The Muhlenberg Story: History of an American College
Call Number: 378.748 S445m

Using Encompass Search for Books

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books and scholarly journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.

Encompass Search
To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan button to request a copy from another library.

Finding Articles

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Finding Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts Online
Selectively covers masters theses and dissertations from North America and Europe 1861-present.

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

Citing Your Sources

For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide.

For information on APA Style, see the APA Citation Guide
Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.