This is the "Home" page of the "Propaganda and Promotional Cultures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Propaganda and Promotional Cultures  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/propaganda Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials

Credo Reference
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for media and communication studies. Full text is linked directly in the database.

A few notable titles within Credo Reference...

      

    Finding Articles

    For a discussion of scholarly vs. popular sources, see What is a scholarly article?.

    For a discussion of primary vs. secondary sources, see Primary vs. secondary sources.

    SCHOLARLY / SECONDARY ARTICLES

    • See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage  -- Research (in the red navigation bar)  Databases A to Z.
    • Check the Subject Guides (linked from Research in the red navigation bar) for other recommended databases for this and other subject areas.
    • Need to know more about the journals in which the articles you're finding are published?  Use Ulrichsweb Periodical Directory (search the Catalog by title).

    Subject-Specific Databases: Media and Communication

    Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Sage Journals Online
    A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

    Subject-Specific Databases: History

    America: History and Life
    A database of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, book reviews, dissertations, and more in U.S. and Canadian history. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Historical Abstracts with Full Text with Full Text
    A database of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, book reviews, dissertations, and more for world history (excluding U.S. and Canada). Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Interdisciplinary Databases

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including media and communication. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    JSTOR
    A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    OmniFile
    A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Project MUSE
    A database of scholarly journals for the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Full text is linked directly in the database.


    POPULAR / PRIMARY ARTICLES

    19th Century Masterfile
    Citations to Anglo-American nineteenth century newspapers, periodicals, books, and goverment documents

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including media and communication. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
    Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) comprising books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Content covers critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Primarily in English but also includes other languages.

    LexisNexis Academic
    A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    OmniFile
    A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Pennsylvania Gazette
    The Early American paper of record, 1728-1800.

    Readers' Guide Retrospective
    Citations to general-interest magazines and newspapers published in the United States for the period 1890-1982. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Times Digital Archive
    Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.

    OTHER PRIMARY SOURCES

    Many libraries, museums, historical societies, and other institutions provide digitized collections of primary sources on the web. Some noteworthy online collections and resources include:

    American Memory (Library of Congress)
    American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

    Avalon Project (Yale University)
    Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government throughout history.

    Primary Sources on the Web (Cal State LA)
    A listing of websites linking to primary source collections online.

    Repositories of Primary Sources (University of Idaho)
    A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

    State Digital Resources (Library of Congress)
    A compilation of state and regional digital projects and collaborations.


    GETTING THE ARTICLES

    1. When searching for articles in library databases, you may find the full-text of an article linked in the database.
    2. If not, you need to search the Trexler Library Catalogto see if we own the journal in which the article is published.
      • Most databases have a Check for Full Text buttons embedded. Click the link to check our holdings.
      • Otherwise, search the catalog by journal title or by ISSN . Verify that we have online, print, or microform access to the year/volume you need.
    3. If we do not own the journal you need, request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
      • Some databases have a Request on Interlibrary Loan link embedded. Click the link to fill out the form. Click Submit.
      • Otherwise, use the Interlibrary Loan Journal Article Request Form (Library Homepage  --  Services (in the red navigation bar) -- Interlibrary Loan  --  Articles request form). Fill out the form with as much information as possible. Ask for help, if you have questions.

        

      Need help with your research?

      Contact:

      Jen Jarson
      Social Sciences Reference Librarian
      phone: 484-664-3552
      email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu
      IM: jjarson1 (AIM, Yahoo)

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip