This is the "Home" page of the "Psychology of Adolescence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology of Adolescence  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/psychofadolescence Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials

The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science (2001)
Location: Trexler Library 150.3 E562o, 2001 v.1-4

Credo Reference
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for psychology. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media (2007)
Location: Trexler Library 302.23083 E56o v.1-2

Encyclopedia of psychology (2000)
Location: Trexler Library 150.3 E563o v.1-8

The Gale encyclopedia of childhood and adolescence (1997)
Location: Trexler Library 305.231 G151e

Growing up: A cross-cultural encyclopedia (1995)
Location: Trexler Library 305.231 B875g

The handbook of child and adolescent clinical psychology: A contextual approach (1999)
Location: Trexler Library 618.9289 C311h

Handbook of psychology (2003)
Location: Trexler Library 150 H236o v.1-12

International encyclopedia of adolescence (2007)
Location: Trexler Library 305.235 I61e v.1-2

      

    Finding Articles

    SCHOLARLY & EMPIRICAL ARTICLES: PsycINFO

    PsycINFO
    Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.


    POPULAR MEDIA SOURCES: NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Google News
    http://news.google.com/

    LexisNexis Academic
    A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    OmniFile
    A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Yahoo News
    http://news.yahoo.com/

    NOTE: Searching the above databases will only retrieve articles, not images, covers, or advertisements. To find this type of material from these publications (or other publications not available online), search the library catalog by journal title to find print copies for browsing.

    Trexler Library also has a selection of movies, television shows, and young adult novels. Search the library catalog by title/author/keyword to find these items. If searching by keyword, consider using the advanced search option and limiting the Location field to Audiovisual (for movies and TV shows) or Juvenile Collection (for young adult novels) to narrow results, if necessary.

        
       

      Getting the Full Text of Articles

      To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

      - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

      - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

      Citing Your Sources

      • For information on APA Style, see:
        • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
          Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
        • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
          General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
        • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
          General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
      • Zotero
        "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
          

        Need Help with Your Research?

        Contact:

        Jen Jarson
        Social Sciences Reference Librarian
        phone: 484-664-3552
        email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip