Last Updated: Jul 6, 2016
Both Oxford Art Online and Wikipedia may serve as a very helpful gateway to more in-depth sources. Pay close attention to any recommendations/references to books, articles, etc. about your photographer!
- Oxford Art Online
An expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
- List of Notable Photographers (Wikipedia)
Don't forget to use Oxford Art Online and Wikipedia as a gateway to more in-depth sources. Consult their reference lists and suggestions for further reading to find books, etc. about your photographer! Plug those titles into Encompass Search to locate full-text online or in print, or to requrest the items through interlibrary loan.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, and more. To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan button to request a copy from another library.
- Google Books
Many authors have placed their works in Google Books as a way to increase exposure and hopefully sell more copies of their works. Any full text that appears may not be easy to extract or manipulate, and often only snippets are available for viewing online. Use the "Find in a Library" option to "request item" on interlibrary loan (you need to be "connected to the Muhlenberg Col Libr network" to do so).
Don't forget to use Oxford Art Online and Wikipedia as a gateway to more in-depth sources. Consult their reference lists and suggestions for further reading to find articles, etc. about your photographer! Plug those titles into Encompass Search to locate full-text online or in print, or to requrest the items through interlibrary loan.
- Academic Search Complete
Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
- Art Full Text
Index and selected full text from art periodicals, 1929-present. Full text journals include Architects' Journal, Art Bulletin, and Art Journal.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more, with coverage in the main from 1980 to present.
Social Sciences Reference Librarian