This is the "Home" page of the "Public Health Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Health Subject Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/publichealth Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Is my article Peer-Reviewed?

Journal articles that are peer-reviewed have been critiqued by other experts before publication.

To determine if an article is peer-reviewed or not, you need to check if the journal in which the article was published is peer-reviewed. You can do this by using the database Ulrich's web. For instance, in the following citation:

Barthlott, W, Wiersch, S, Čolić, Z, & Koch, K 2009, 'Classification of trichome types within species of the water fern Salvinia, and ontogeny of the egg-beater trichomes', Botany, 87, 9, pp. 830-836.

Botany is the journal title. Using Ulrich's web, type in the name of the journal, in this case Botany. (Do NOT enter the title of the article.) If the journal is listed as "refereed" (another word for peer-reviewed), your article is in a peer-reviewed journal. Therefore, most articles in this journal will be peer-reviewed. Exceptions to peer-reviewed articles in a peer-reviewed journal include news items, commentaries, and letters to the editor.

In some databases, such as Academic Search Complete , you can click on the name of the journal and the database will list information about the journal, including if the journal is peer-reviewed or not. Other databases allow you to limit to see only results that are peer-reviewed. To determine if you can limit to peer-reviewed journals, look in the database's help section.

  • Ulrich's Web
    Ulrich's Directory is a database that provides bibliographic information, including if a journal is refereed or not (refereed is another word for peer-reviewed) on international periodicals.

Search for General Background Information on Your Topic

Search Google Scholar



Additional Resources by Course

Core Databases

  • PubMed
    A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • Science Direct, Health, Life, and Physical Sciences
    A database of 1000+ full-text Elsevier journals in the areas of health, life, and physical sciences from 1995 to the present.
  • Springerlink
    Over 1,700 journals from Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
  • PsycINFO
    Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Journals

News sources

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Provides full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more.
  • New York Times
    Complete access to New York Times via Muhlenberg subscription. All users must register while physically on campus, using their Muhlenberg email.
  • Science Daily
    News articles, videos, and images in the subjects of health, math, and the sciences.
  • Google news
    Aggregated news from worldwide sources

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rachel Hamelers
Contact Info
Phone: 484-664-3601
E-mail: rhamelers@muhlenberg.edu
Send Email

Healthy People 2020

Healthy People 2020 sets ambitious 10-year goals for improving the Nation’s health. Each goal is supported by primary literature articles that are indexed in PubMed. The site also serves as a portal for data resources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip