Last Updated: Sep 14, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
Library subscription. Several hundred online encyclopedias by reputable publishers. Good for topic-finding, narrowing, and bibliographies. Sample entry
- Encyclopaedia of Judaism
Purports to provide a full and reliable account of Judaism, beginning in ancient Israelite times and extending to our own day.
- Encyclopedia Judaica (2nd ed., 2007)
(Trexler Library Reference Collection 296.03 E56j)
Signed entries by invited contributors. Good for topic-finding and topic-narrowing.
- Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
- New Encyclopedia of Judaism
A comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that accessibly presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Good for primary documents pre-1923 that are out of copyright.
Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
- ATLA Religion
Index to research literature in world religions and related studies, with many links to full text.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
A subscription database. Standard index for scholarship on Jewish religion and culture. Some full text.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
Free index of scholarship on Jewish religion and culture.