This is the "Home" page of the "The History of Reading" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The History of Reading  

Last Updated: May 15, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/readinghistory Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Where can I find authoritative online reference works on my topic, to guide me to important issues and recommended bibliography?

    • Credo Reference
      A collection of several 100 reputable encyclopedias. Available by library subscription.

    How do I obtain scholarly books?

    • Encompass
      Catalogs of books and documents here and in other libraries throughout the world. Items not found here can be requested on interlibrary loan.

    How do I obtain scholarly articles?

    • Academic Search Complete
      Library subscription database. Standard index for peer-reviewed articles across the disciplines. Includes many full-text articles.
    • America History & Life
      A subscription database. Standard index for American history. Some full text. Also links to full text in other databases.
    • Google Scholar
      Multi-disciplinary. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan for materials not in full-text.
    • JSTOR
      Library subscription database. Peer-reviewed journals only. Multi-discipline.

    How about citing sources?

    For tips on citing print and electronic sources in the Chicago style, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides. For a more complete guide to the Chicago style, visit Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.

    For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Here is a user guide.

        

      Articles via interlibrary loan

      Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip