This is the "Home" page of the "Religion and Violence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion and Violence  

Last Updated: Nov 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/religionviolence Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works for topic narrowing and recommended bibliography

      How do I locate scholarly secondary articles on my topic?

      • Academic Search Complete
        Limit to "peer reviewed" or "academic journals" to get at the scholarly journals.
      • America: History & Life with Full Text
        The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
      • ATLA Religion
        Specific to religion studies. Use caution here: not all sources included here are scholarly.
      • Google Scholar
        May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
      • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
        Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
      • JSTOR
        Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.

      How do I locate scholarly secondary books on my topic?

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Books
        Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan to acquire the full text.

      How do I locate primary documents?

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google
        Authoritativeness will vary. Assess institutional affiliation.

      Citing sources and compiling an annotated bibliography

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip