Last Updated: Mar 27, 2017
Humanities & Business Librarian
Social Sciences Librarian
- American Decades
Offers snapshots of major events/trends in a given decade. Located in Trexler Library at call #973.92 A512d
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
To peak inside books before requesting on interlibrary loan.
- Academic Search Complete
Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
- America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Premier database of scholarly and trade journals and books in media and communication and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. TO LIMIT TO MEDIA SOURCES, choose newspapers and/or magazines on the left sidebar of a search results page under source types. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library. Generally covers 1980s to present.
- Disability History Museum: Library
"Our collections - Documents and Visual Stills - are associated with the cultural and social history of people with disabilities across the lifespan and diagnosis categories. The records here illuminate everyday practices, dominant ideologies, and alternative perspectives. You will find individual voices as well as the opinions and rhetoric of groups.... Most, but not all, of the Collections' records were produced in the United States from 1800 to the present."
- Encompass Search
Trexler Library has access to many films, television shows, short stories, novels, and other popular culture/media forms, in addition to academic resources. Encompass Search searches for these resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other libraries.
- Films - Portrayals of People with Disabilities (The Iris Center, Vanderbilt University and Claremont Graduate University)
"This tool represents an attempt to catalogue the representation of people with disabilities in motion pictures." To check if Trexler Library has access to a particular film of interest, search Encompass Search on the library homepage for the film title.
Search the web to explore discussion of media representations re. the disability you're researching in articles, blogs, websites, discussion boards, and more.
- LexisNexis Academic
A database of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database. Generally covers 1980s to the present.
- MLA International Bibliography
Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present. Searching on a disability or difference it will find scholarly articles that refer in the subject headings and abstracts to primary texts (e.g., novels, short stories) about the subject.
- New York Times
- Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
A database of thousands of private writings, personal narratives, interviews and more of people from diverse ethnic and social groups from 1550 to the present.