This is the "Home" page of the "Research Design in Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Design in Anthropology  

Last Updated: May 14, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/researchdesignanthropology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is a Research Proposal?

      

    What is an Annotated Bibliography?

        

      What is a Literature Review?

          

        Selected Reference Materials

        • Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (2010)
          Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access
        • Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology (1998)
          Location: Trexler Library 305.8001 B518h
        • Countries and their Cultures (2004)
          Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access
        • Credo Reference
          Credo Reference provides access to 325 reference works, including general and subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from over 60 respected publishers across 17 major subject areas--all online, all searchable from one search box.
          Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access
        • Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia (2000)
          Location: Trexler Library 930.1 E47a
        • Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (1996)
          Location: Trexler Library 305.803 E56o v.1-4

        Trexler Library may also have other topical reference works more closely related to your particular topic. To find them, search the catalog or ask for help.

            

          Finding Articles

          • Academic Search Complete
            A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
          • Anthropology Plus
            Citations to scholarly journals and books in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
          • AnthroSource
            A database of mostly scholarly journal articles, as well as some books and non-scholarly articles published by the American Anthropological Association. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
          • JSTOR
            A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database. (Note: To restrict results to anthropology/other journals, from Advanced Search screen, choose discipline category/ies.)
          • Omnifile
            A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
          • PubMed (Medline)
            A database of scholarly journals in the fields of medicine, psychology, health care, and more. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.
          • Sage Journals Online
            A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

          Finding Books

          Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

          To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

              

            Citing Your Sources

            • For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide. 

            • American Anthropological Association Style Guide
              General guidelines, as well as reference examples.  AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.

            • Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style.  For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:
            • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
              Location: Online or search library catalog by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
            • Zotero
              "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
                

              Need Help with Your Research?

              Contact:

              Jen Jarson
              Social Sciences Reference Librarian
              phone: 484-664-3552
              email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                  
                Description

                Loading  Loading...

                Tip