This is the "Home" page of the "Research Design in Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Design in Sociology  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/researchdesignsociology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Writing Annotated Bibliographies (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/content.php?pid=471100&sid=5215028

Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue University)
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/

Annotated Bibliographies (Writing Center, University of Wisconsin--Madison)
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/AnnotatedBibliography.html

      

    What is a Literature Review?

    Literature Reviews (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    http://writingcenter.unc.edu/resources/handouts-demos/specific-writing-assignments/literature-reviews

        

      Selected Reference Materials

      21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook
      Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 301 T971c vol. 1-2
      Highlights the most important sociology topics, issues, questions, and debates in the 21st century.

      Credo Reference
      Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for sociology. Full text is linked directly in the database.

      Encyclopedia of Social Theory
      Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 301.01 E56o vol. 1-2

      Handbook of Social Theory
      Location: Main Collection 301.01 R615h

      Key Contemporary Social Theorists
      Location: Main Collection (Ref.) 300.922 E46k

          

        Finding Articles

        Selected Subject Specific Databases

        ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
        Citations to scholarly journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        ERIC
        Premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        JSTOR
        A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines, with many sociology journals. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database. (Note: To restrict results to sociology/other journals, from Advanced Search screen, choose discipline category/ies.)

        PsycINFO
        Premier database of scholarly and professional journals and books in psychology and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        Sage Journals Online
        A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

        Sociological Abstracts
        Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        Selected Interdisciplinary Databases

        Academic Search Complete
        A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including sociology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        Omnifile
        A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        Also try...

        See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage  --  Research  --  Databases A-Z

        Check the Subject Guides (linked from the Library Homepage in the Research area) for other recommended databases for this and related subject areas.

        Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. To find only articles, use the Article limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Use the Peer-reviewed limit to narrow further to scholarly sources that have been peer-reviewed. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

            
           

          Getting the Full Text of Articles

          To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

          - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

          - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

          - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

          Finding Books

          Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

          To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

              

            Citing Your Sources

            • For help using American Sociological Association Style, consult the following resources:
            • ASA Style Guide (4th ed., 2010)
              Location: Ready Reference 808.0663 A512a 2010
            • Zotero
              "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
                

              Need Help with Your Research?

              Contact:

              Jen Jarson
              Social Sciences Reference Librarian
              phone: 484-664-3552
              email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                  
                Description

                Loading  Loading...

                Tip