This is the "Home" page of the "Revolutionary America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Revolutionary America  

Last Updated: Mar 9, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/revolamerica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    How do I locate scholarly monographs and collected essays as published in books?

    • Encompass Search
      Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
    • America: History & Life with Full Text
      The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
    • Google Books
      To peak inside books before requesting on interlibrary loan.

    How about peer-reviewed journal articles?

    • America: History & Life with Full Text
      The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
    • Google Scholar
      May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
    • JSTOR
      A substantive archive of more than 300 scholarly history journals, all full text. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Full text journals include American Historical Review, Journal of American History, Journal of American Studies, Review in American History, Comparative Studies in Society and History, Cultural Critique, Eighteenth Century Studies, Environmental History, Historical Journal, and History and Theory.

    How about citing source?

    For tips on citing print and electronic sources in the Chicago style, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources. For a more complete guide to the Chicago style, visit Purdue University's Online Writing Lab.

    For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero. Here is a user guide.

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip