Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
A subscription reference database including many well-known and respected reference works published ABC-CLIO, Routledge, and others. See especially the reference book Reader's Guide to British History (Routledge).
- Cambridge Histories Online
All histories published by Cambridge, now available online by library subscription.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Many authors have placed their works in Google Books as a way to increase exposure and hopefully sell more copies of their works. Any full text that appears may not be easy to extract or manipulate, and often only snippets are available for viewing online. Use the "Find in a Library" option to "request item" on interlibrary loan (you need to be "connected to the Muhlenberg Col Libr network" to do so).
Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
A subscription database. Includes extensive full text, scholarly. Intended as a deep archive. Excludes current five years.
- Google Scholar
An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for art history, with indexing and abstracts from early 1900s-present. Some full text.