This is the "Home" page of the "Human Rights/Human Wrongs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Rights/Human Wrongs  

Last Updated: Apr 26, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/rightswrongs Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works

      • Credo Reference
        An online collection of well-known reference books, available by library subscription.
      • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
        Peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia.
      • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
        Peer-reviewed open-access encyclopedia. Compare/contrast with the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy listed above, as well as non-scholarly resources like SparkNotes and Wikipedia (not recommended for use with this project).

      Scholarly books

      • Encompass Search
        Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan.

      Scholarly Articles

      • Academic Search Complete
        A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • JSTOR
        Archive (five year old and prior) of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
      • America History & Life
        Available by library subscription.
      • MLA International Bibliography
        Available through library subscription. Standard journal database for literary criticism.
      • Philosopher's Index
        Available through library subscription. Standard journal database in philosophy.
      • PsycINFO
        A subscription database for psychology.

      Popular reviews and other primary sources

      • Academic Search Complete
        A subscription database. Good starting place for journals from every discipline. Includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • New York Times
        Complete access to New York Times via Muhlenberg subscription. All users must register while physically on campus, using their Muhlenberg email.
      • Reader's Guide Retrospective
        Available by library subscription.

      Search engines

      • Google
        Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.

      Creating a bibliography

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip