This is the "Home" page of the "Rise of Islam" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Rise of Islam  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/riseislam Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Finding primary documents

      One excellent website offering access to primary documentation is Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, sponsored by Emory University and others.

      See also a library subscription database titled Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive.

      Then there is the archive of works published in English prior to 1700, called Early English Books Online, and for the eighteenth century, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, both made available through library subscription.

      Google Books is a rich source for primary documents.

          

        Reference works (good for generating topics and recommending sources)

        Authoritative secondary commentary in articles

        • Academic Search Complete
          Library subscription database. Standard index for peer-reviewed articles across the disciplines. Includes many full-text articles.
        • Google Scholar
          Multi-disciplinary. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan for materials not in full-text.
        • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
          A subscription database. Standard index for European history, but emphasis is on post-1492. Some full text links.
        • JSTOR
          Library subscription database. Peer-reviewed journals only. Multi-discipline.

        Mining bibliographies

        Citing sources in Chicago style (foot/endnotes and bibliography format)

        For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.

        For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

            

          Articles via interlibrary loan

          Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip