This is the "Home" page of the "Road Trip: American Literature & Film" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Road Trip: American Literature & Film  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/roadtrip Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.ed

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works (good for topic-generating and recommending sources)

      • Credo Reference
        Available through library subscription. Contains several hundred academic-audience reference works.
      • Literature Criticism Online
        Available by library subscription. Literary biography and criticism.
      • Wikipedia
        Not an authoritative source per se. Bibliography may link to web interviews.

      Scholarly books and primary documents

      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
      • Google Books
        Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
      • WorldCat
        Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.

      Scholarly journal articles, other reputable periodicals

      • Academic Search Complete
        ***RECOMMENDED***
        A library subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • America: History & Life with Full Text
        A library subscription database. Standard index for North American history. Some full text.
      • Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
        A database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, and more in the areas of television and film. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
      • Google Scholar
        May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
      • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
        Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full text of articles appearing in history journals, with emphasis on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). It includes citations to books, journal articles, and dissertations.
      • JSTOR
        A library subscription database. Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
      • Literature Criticism Online
        All full text, this extensive archive of criticism of 20th century literary works comes from scholarly journals and books.
      • MLA International Bibliography
        Premier scholarly index, with numerous links to full text, to criticism in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, film studies, and folklore, published from 1920-present.

      Search engines

      • Google
        Authoritativeness will vary. Assess author and institutional affiliation.

      Citing sources and compiling an annotated bibliography

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip