This is the "Home" page of the "The Age of Roosevelt" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Age of Roosevelt  

Last Updated: Apr 26, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/roosevelt Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Outreach and Scholarly
Communication Librarian,
Humanities & Business
Subject Specialist

phone: 484-664-3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

Reference Works

  • AHA Guide to Historical LIterature
    Location: Trexler Library call # 016.9 C946 1995
    List of seminal historical works published in the latter 20th century, arranged by subject.
  • Companion to Franklin D. Roosevelt
    Presents a collection of essays by leading scholars on the president who led the United States through the tumultuous period from the Great Depression to the waning days of World War II.
  • Credo Reference
    Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Scholarly Books (Secondary)

  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
  • WorldCat
    Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

Scholarly Journal Articles (Secondary)

  • America: History & Life with Full Text
    The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
  • Google Scholar
    Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.

Primary Documents in Books

  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
  • Google Books
    An excellent source for full-text of primary documents as they appear in public domain (pre-1923) books and magazines.
  • WorldCat
    Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

Primary Document Websites

News Sources (Primary)

  • New York Times Archive 1923-2013 via Proquest
  • Times Digital Archive
    Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.

Citing Sources

  • Trexler Library Citation Guides
    Brief, easy-to-use guides to the 3 most used citation styles: APA, Chicago (Turabian), MLA.
  • Zotero
    Free citation tool. Does the citing for you! Loved by librarians, professors, and students alike.
  • Annotated Bibliography Samples
    For help in writing annotated bibliographies, visit Purdue's Online Writing Lab for a definition and examples of an annotated bibliography.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip