This is the "Home" page of the "Sexuality in U.S. History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sexuality in U.S. History  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/sexhistory Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN): refcannon
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      How do I get ideas for topics, and get a list of recommended books and journal articles on my topic?

      • Dictionary of American History
        Trexler Library level C, call # 937.003 D554o
      • Men and Masculinities
        Trexler Library level B, call # 305.3103 K49m
      • Women, Gender, and Sexuality
        Trexler Library level B, call # 305.403 B336w

      How do I locate scholarly books and primary documents?

      • WorldCat
        ***RECOMMENDED***
        Catalog of books and documents here and in libraries throughout the world. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Tip: Try a subject search on "sex customs"
      • Encompass Search
        ***RECOMMENDED***
        Catalog of books and documents here and in libraries throughout the world. Use in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Tip: Try a subject search on "sex customs"

      How do I locate peer-reviewed (scholarly) journal articles?

      • Academic Search Complete
        Interdisciplinary, largely full-text.
      • Google Scholar
        An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.
      • JSTOR
        Archive of scholarly journals. All disciplines are represented.
      • America: History & Life with Full Text
        ***RECOMMENDED***
        Index to historical research about U.S. history, 1492-present. Links through "Get It" to JSTOR and Project Muse.
      • Communication and Mass Media Complete
        Great for media topics such as advertising.
      • MLA International Bibliography
        Standard index for literature criticism.

      What about magazines and newspaper of the day (primary documents)

      • Time
        Trexler Library level A microfilm
      • Newsweek
        Trexler Library level A microfilm
      • Life
        Trexler Library level A microfilm
      • Saturday Review
        hard copy, Trexler Library level A, call # 051s1
      • Harper's
        hard copy, Trexler Library level A, call # 051ha
      • Atlantic Monthly
        hard copy, Trexler Library level A, call # 051a
      • New York Times Index Online
        Available by library subscription.
      • Reader's Guide Retrospective
        Index to the above popular periodicals and other publications, 1900-1980.

      Web search engines, directories, and selected sites

      Style guides

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources in the Chicago style, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero (http://www.zotero.org/). Here is a user guide.

      Annotated bibliographies:

      Visit the University of Central Florida's Annotated Bibliographies guide.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip