This is the "Home" page of the "Sustainable Stories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sustainable Stories  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/sustainablestories Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN): refcannon
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      How can I search across all databases for a specific title, whether book or journal?

      Reference works

      • Britain in the Hanoverian Age
        Trexler Library Level C, 942.07 N552b
      • Victorian Britain
        Trexler Library Level C, 942.081 V645b
      • The Victorian Countryside
        Trexler Library Level C, 942.081 V645

      E-version of novel

      Scholarly journal articles

      • Google Scholar
        An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Use in conjuction with the library's Encompass Search to check for full text access, then interlibrary loan as needed.
      • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
        ***RECOMMENDED***
        A subscription database. Focus on European History.
      • JSTOR
        A subscription database. Archive of major scholarly journals across the disciplines.

      Historical artifacts (primary) as published in books and journals

      • Google Books
        ***RECOMMENDED***
        A combination of partial and complete texts. Good from primary works out of copyright (pre-1923). When used on campus, provides links to WorldCat for interlibrary loan.

      Web search engines and directories

      • Google
        Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.

      Citing sources

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip