This is the "Home" page of the "Theatre & Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theatre & Society  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/theatresociety Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
IM (AIM, Yahoo): refcannon

      

    Getting to the full text

    Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

        

      Reference works

      • Credo Reference
        Available by library subscription. An online collection of several hundred encyclopedias published for higher-education audiences.

      Books (primary and scholarly/secondary)

      • WorldCat
        Catalog of books and documents in research libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.
      • Encompass Search
        Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.

      Scholarly/secondary journal articles

      • Academic Search Complete
        A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
      • Literature Criticism Online
        A library purchase database. Reprints of critical articles and reviews. Full-text.

      News archives (for reviews)

      Search engines

      • Google
        Non-selective. One of the largest web crawlers.
      • Google Scholar
        An open-access web crawler that looks for content it identifies as "scholarly." Emphasis is on books and journal articles. Intended as a "federated search" to search across disciplines (weighted toward sciences and social sciences). Not always full text. Check our Journal Locator (see above) to see if Muhlenberg has access to the full text.

      Creating a bibliography

      For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides for Print and Electronic Resources.

      For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

          

        Articles via interlibrary loan

        Journal articles not found in Trexler Library can be ordered on interlibrary loan.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip