This is the "Home" page of the "Urban Africa" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Urban Africa  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/urbanafrica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Humanities & Business Librarian
phone: x3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu
Sc

 

Getting to the full text

Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.

Reference works

  • BlackPast.org
    This 13,000 page freely available reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. - See more at: http://www.blackpast.org/#sthash.pYLd1bv3.dpuf

Authoritative commentary in books

  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
  • Google Books
    To peak inside books before requesting on interlibrary loan.
  • Cambridge History of Africa
    This comprehensive history of Africa contains chapters written by experts in their field. It covers the whole period from early history right up to the 20th century in eight volumes.

Authoritative commentary in scholarly journals

  • Black Studies Center
    Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.
  • Google Scholar
    May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
    Subscription databases, in non-U.S. history.
  • JSTOR
    A subscription database. An archive for many scholarly journals including some in art history.

Primary documents

  • Black Studies Center
    Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, a periodical index, and more, combined from several resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index. The database is a rich source of full text peer-reviewed journals such as Africa Policy Journal, African American Review, African Arts, African Economic History, African Studies Quarterly, Africana, and scores of others.
  • Times Digital Archive
    Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.

Additional web resources

  • Google
    Authoritativeness will vary. Assess author and institutional affiliation.

Citing Sources

For tips on citing print and electronic sources, visit Trexler Library's Citation Guides.

For automated citation, try the shareware Zotero.

      
     

    Interlibrary Loan

    Most any item not immediately available in our library or in the research databases can be requested on interlibrary loan by filling out the appropriate form for articles or books.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip