This is the "Home" page of the "Vodou in Haiti and the Diaspora" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Vodou in Haiti and the Diaspora  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/vodou Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Background Information

  • 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook
    Highlights the most important anthropology topics, issues, questions, and debates in the 21st century. Includes applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, and primate studies. Full text online.
  • Credo Reference
    Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas. Full text is linked directly in the database.
  • Encyclopedia of Anthropology
    Over 1,000 entries that focus on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. Full text online.
  • Encyclopedia of Religion
    Thousands of entries that present a "cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture." Full text online.

Finding Articles

Subject-Specific Databases: Anthropology

Anthropology Plus
Citations to scholarly journals and books in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

AnthroSource
A database of mostly scholarly journal articles, as well as some books and non-scholarly articles published by the American Anthropological Association. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

Subject-Specific Databases: Other Subjects

ATLA Religion
Citations to scholarly journals and books in world religions and related studies. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

PubMed
A database of scholarly journals in the fields of medicine, psychology, health care, and more. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

Sociological Abstracts
Citations to scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and more in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including anthropology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Citations to scholarly journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

JSTOR
A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Project MUSE
A database with journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Full text is linked directly in the database.

Sage Journals Online
A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

SpringerLink
A database of scholarly journals and books published by Springer-Verlag with coverage from 1997 to present. Subjects covered focus on the natural sciences, but also include significant titles in behavioral sciences, humanities, social sciences and law. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles or book titles to check for full text online or in the library.

Encompass Search

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box.  While it's not a 100% match of the full content our databases (it's a work in progress, too, so we'll have more of our database content set up as time goes on) and it doesn't offer the same advanced features that databases do, it may help explore interdisciplinary gaps not covered well in single databases.

To find only articles, use the Article limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Use the Peer-reviewed limit to narrow further to scholarly sources that have been peer-reviewed. Some full text is linked directly; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
      
     

    Getting the Full Text of Articles

    To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

    - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

    - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

    - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

    Finding Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

    To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        

      Citing Your Sources

      • For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide. 

      • American Anthropological Association Style Guide
        General guidelines, as well as reference examples.  AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.

      • Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style.  For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:
      • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
        Location: Online or search library catalog by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
      • Zotero
        "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
          

        Need Help with Your Research?

        Contact:

        Jen Jarson
        Social Sciences Reference Librarian
        phone: 484-664-3552
        email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip