This is the "Home" page of the "Witchcraft, Magic, and Sorcery" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Witchcraft, Magic, and Sorcery  

Last Updated: Jun 10, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/witchcraftmagicsorcery Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Background Information

21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access

Countries and their Cultures
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access

Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference works (e.g., encyclopedias, handbooks), including a number of notable titles in anthropology, history, religion, and more -- all online, all searchable from one search box.
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access

Encyclopedia of Religion
Location: Online or search the library catalog by title to access
NOTE: This is also available in print at 200.3 E56o

Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft and Wicca
Location: 133.403 G956e

Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook
Location: 305.8 L665et

Man, Myth & Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown
Location: 133 M266m v.1-12

      

    Finding Books

    Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. 

    To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        

      Finding Articles

      Subject-Specific Databases: Anthropology

      Anthropology Plus
      Comprehensive, international index to anthropology and archaeology literature.

      AnthroSource
      Provides full text articles from American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, and bulletins.

      Subject-Specific Databases: Other Disciplines

      America History & Life
      The definitive database for U.S. and Canadian history, indexing journals, books, and dissertations.

      ATLA Religion
      Index to research literature in world religions and related studies.

      Historical Abstracts with Full Text with Full Text
      Index to historical literature for all regions excluding the U.S. and Canada, 1450-present.

      Interdisciplinary Databases

      Academic Search Complete
      Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.

      Google Scholar
      "Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."  Used the cited by option to track citations.

      JSTOR
      Full text of scholarly journals from most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.

      PRISMA
      Indexing and extensive full text from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities focused on Latin America, in publications from 1970-present.

      Project MUSE
      A full-text database with journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

      Sage Journals Online
      Full-text access to over 500 journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage of scholarly publications in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences.

          
         

        Getting the Full Text of Articles

        To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

        - If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

        - If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        - If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

        Citing Your Sources

        • For information on why to cite your sources and how to avoid plagiarism, see the Get Started with Library Research: Cite Sources guide. 

        • American Anthropological Association Style Guide
          General guidelines, as well as reference examples.  AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style. This guide is an outline of style rules basic to AAA style.

        • Where no rule is present in the AAA Style Guide, follow Chicago Style.  For information on Chicago style, consult the following resources:
        • The Chicago manual of style (16th ed., 2010)
          Location: Online or search library catalog by title or Ready Reference 808.027 C632m
        • Zotero
          "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
            

          Need Help with Your Research?

          Contact:

          Jen Jarson
          Social Sciences Reference Librarian
          phone: 484-664-3552
          email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip