Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
IM (AIM, Yahoo, MSN): refcannon
Reference desk IM: talktotrexler
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
- Oxford Art Online
An expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
Catalog of books and documents in libraries throughout the world. Watch especially for the AREA LIBRARIES designation.
Newspapers and other popular periodicals
- LexisNexis Academic
Available by library subscription. A reliable source from full text newspapers from around the world. From within the database, choose: News. Then choose the source (e.g. Major World Newspaper) and then specify the date range.
- New York Times Online
Access to the archive of the New York Times from 1857-present.
- Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.
Scholarly journals in art history and specialized art magazines
- Academic Search Complete
Full text access to scholarly and non-scholarly publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
- America History & Life
- Art Full Text
A subscription database. Good starting place for art journals and specialty art magazines, and includes the full text of many. Indexes and/or includes the full text of specialty art magazines such as Art in America Artforum, Apollo, Burlington Magazine, October, Modern Painters, Women Artists News.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
- Google Scholar
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
A subscription database. An archive for many scholarly journals including some in art history. Includes these women's studies journals full-text: Signs