This is the "Home" page of the "Women's America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's America  

Last Updated: Mar 9, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/womensamerica Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need help with your research?

Contact:

Kelly Cannon
Outreach and Scholarly
Communication Librarian,
Humanities & Business
Subject Specialist

phone: 484-664-3602
email: kcannon@muhlenberg.edu

A.T.

Reference Works

  • Credo Reference
    Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
  • Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
    A part of women’s history as much as it presents the history of U.S. women. It is the first reference work to provide information and interpretation to a wide audience about women’s diverse experiences across the centuries. It is the first such work devoted to exploring moments, topics, and events in U.S. history as they affected, and were affected by, women.

Scholarly Books (Secondary)

  • America: History & Life with Full Text
    The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
  • Encompass Search
    Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
  • Google Books
    Google Books is a great way to preview book content.
  • WorldCat
    Search catalogs from libraries across the country and around the globe. Items owned by Trexler Library show a Muhlenberg College Library icon. Request items not owned by Trexler Library directly through WorldCat using the ILL (Interlibrary Loan) button. Items generally take 2-10 days to arrive.

Scholarly Journal Articles (Secondary)

  • America: History & Life with Full Text
    The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
  • Google Scholar
    Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
  • JSTOR
    A substantive archive of more than 300 scholarly history journals, all full text. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Full text journals include American Historical Review, Journal of American History, Journal of American Studies, Review in American History, Comparative Studies in Society and History, Cultural Critique, Eighteenth Century Studies, Environmental History, Historical Journal, and History and Theory.

Citing Sources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip