Finding a Reading
Searching for News with Databases
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. To limit your search results to just news, choose Newspapers and/or Magazines on the left sidebar of your results list. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Browsing for News with Websites
Use the World link on the left sidebar.
Mondo Times -- the Worldwide News Media Guide
Links to local media in the United States and worldwide, including newspaper, TV stations, news radio stations, and online news sources.
New York Times
Use the World link on the left sidebar. Then choose regions or subtopics in the navigation bar at the top of the screen.
Choose the World in the top navigation bar, then choose regions or subtopics.
Searching for Academic Articles
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. To limit your search results to just academic articles, choose Academic/Scholarly Journals on the left sidebar of your results list. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
See the Subject Guides for recommendations of additional databases by subject area.
Finding Lesson Plans and Critical Pedagogy Lenses: Selected Resources
Discovery Education Lesson Plans
Assorted lesson plans and classroom activities.
Use this education database to find lesson plan ideas. ERIC is a premier database of scholarly and professional journals, books, documents, and more in education and related areas. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise, use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
To narrow your search results to just classroom activity resources, consider two possible approaches. Neither is comprehensive, so it's likely best to try both.
- Add terms to your searches that describe classroom activities (e.g., "lesson plans" or "classroom activities" or "learning activities").
- Limit your searches by "publication type" in the search options (below the search boxes on the search screen). The following publication types may be relevant:
- Guides - Classroom - Learners -- Materials intended for direct instruction of the learner; materials presenting the substantive information that forms the content of instruction, e.g., instructional materials, readings, programmed texts, manuals, laboratory manuals, outlines, texts, workbooks, syllabi, study guides, orientation materials, textbooks, handbooks, exercises, learning modules, problems, resource guides.
- Guides - Classroom - Teacher -- Materials intended as guides for the teacher, e.g. curriculum guides, course outlines, units of study, lesson plans, teaching guides, leader guides, statements of behavioral objectives. May contain instructional materials, sample examinations, suggested learning activities, etc. Includes teaching tips, teaching techniques, "How to Teach" materials.
- Guides - General -- Materials designed for immediate and practical use by students, teachers, or administrative or support personnel. "General" is used only when material does not fit a more specific sub-category.
Learning Network: Teaching and Learning with the New York Times
"Teaching ideas based on New York Times content. "
National Geographic: Education
"Library of National Geographic’s popular education content, highlighting our iconic media and expert resources aligned with education standards. We offer a wide range of free educational resources that bring geography, science, and social studies to life for educators, learners, and their families."
Share My Lesson
"Share My Lesson is a place where educators can come together to create and share their very best teaching resources. Developed by teachers for teachers, this free platform gives access to high-quality teaching resources and provides an online community where teachers can collaborate with, encourage and inspire each other."
Teaching a People's History: Zinn Education Project
"The website offers more than 100 free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level."
Teaching for Change
"Teaching for Change operates from the belief that schools can provide students the skills, knowledge and inspiration to be citizens and architects of a better world — or they can fortify the status quo. By drawing direct connections to real world issues, Teaching for Change encourages teachers and students to question and re-think the world inside and outside their classrooms, build a more equitable, multicultural society, and become active global citizens."
Selected Geography Resources
Great Websites for Kids: Social Sciences
"A compilation of exemplary websites geared to children from birth to age 14."
National Geographic Education
"National Geographic Education is responsible for creating and disseminating educational programs for schools, out-of-school settings, and the home."
U.S. Geological Survey Education
Geography (and other) resources for K-6 and 7-12 .
CIA World Factbook
"Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
Country, Economy, and Regional Information
"The Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade provides information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of" hundreds of countries.
Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas. Full text is linked directly in the database.
Europa World Year Book
Country profiles and brief statistics by country on a variety of topics, including: area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, education, and more.
National Geographic Photograpy and Photos of the Day
Images from National Geographic.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library
"The NOAA collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun. Because of this broad base of scientific expertise and the geographic range under which NOAA science and observations are conducted, the NOAA collection includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton."
MAPS AND VIRTUAL TRAVEL
Free, downloadable outline maps of the world.
Degree Confluence Project
"The goal of the project is to visit each of the latitude and longitude integer degree intersections in the world, and to take pictures at each location. The pictures, and stories about the visits, will then be posted here."
Esri: Storytelling with Maps
"Esri publishes story maps with three goals: To showcase interesting and important topics; to explore techniques and best practices for map-based storytelling; and to help enable people to make their own story maps."
Virtual travel around the world.
"Explore the world in 3D."
Google Earth for Educators
"View lesson plans for a variety of grade levels and subjects, discuss Google Earth teaching tactics with fellow educators, see student-created work, and read how other teachers are using Google Earth in the classroom."
Library of Congress Map Collections
"The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection."
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
Varied collection of current and historical maps.
U.S. Geological Survey Historical Topographic Map Collection
A growing collection of digitized "topographic maps created throughout the Survey's history."
"Collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest."
See the Find Statistics and Data help guide for more resources.
"Search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system."
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
"Annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations."
U.S. Census Bureau
"Leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."
Tool to interact with census data.
Statistics in Schools
Lesson plans, activities, resources related to census data.
World Bank: Data
Worldwide data by topic and country.
Little Green Data Book
Statistics for agriculture, forests and biodiversity, oceans, energy and emissions, water and sanitation, environment and health for countries and regions.
Online videos from around the world.
National Geographic Videos
Online videos from around the world.
GET HELP WITH PREZI: TIPS AND BEST PRACTICES
Prezi Support (Prezi)
7 Best Practices for Making Great Prezi Presentations (Teaching with Technology Today, Milwaukee Area Technical College)
8 Tips for an Awesome Prezi (Prezi Jedi)
EXPLORE SAMPLE PREZIS
Prezis We Think You Should See: Staff Picks (Prezi)
Prezis We Think You Should See: Popular (Prezi)
Need Help with Your Research?
Social Sciences Reference Librarian