This is the "Home" page of the "Writing for a Change" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing for a Change  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/writingchange Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Materials about Censorship of Books

Censorship
Location: 363.31 C396a vol. 1-3

Historical Dictionary of Censorship in the United States
Location: 344.0531 H967h

Literature Suppressed on Political Grounds
Location: 363.31 K18L

Literature Suppressed on Religious Grounds
Location: 363.31 B175L

Literature Suppressed on Sexual Grounds
Location: 363.31 S729Li

Literature Suppressed on Social Grounds
Location: 363.31 S729L

      

    Investigating Popular and Critical Reception of Your Book

    Books Published in the Late 1980s/Early 1990s to the Present

    Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including media and communication. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Book Review Index
    An index to reviews of books.  Use the library catalog to check for full text online or in the library.
    Location: 015.73 B724i

    LexisNexis Academic
    A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

    New York Times Index
    The New York Times has its own index, called the New York Times Index.  The print index is in the library at 071.471 N532y1, but the archive is also search online through the New York Times website.  The library has archives of the New York Times on microfilm. 

    Omnifile
    A database of scholarly and non-scholarly journals covering various subjects including general sciences, humanities, social sciences, and business. Includes content from Readers' Guide for Periodical Literature.  Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

    Books Published in 1965 to the Late 1980s/Early 1990s

    Book Review Index
    An index to reviews of books. Use the library catalog to check for full text online or in the library.
    Location: 015.73 B724i

    Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

      • Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (print index) -- Location: 051 R286g
      • Readers' Guide Retrospective (online database)
        *Note: The online database sometimes doesn't find results when it should!  The print index may be more authoritative!

    New York Times Index
    The New York Times has its own index, called the New York Times Index.  The print index is in the library at 071.471 N532y1, but the archive is also search online through the New York Times website. The library has archives of the New York Times on microfilm. 

    Books Published Pre-1965

    Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

      • Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (print index) -- Location: 051 R286g
      • Readers' Guide Retrospective (online database)
        *Note: The online database sometimes doesn't find results when it should!  The print index may be more authoritative!

    New York Times Index
    The New York Times has its own index, called the New York Times Index.  The print index is in the library at 071.471 N532y1, but the archive is also search online through the New York Times website. The library has archives of the New York Times on microfilm. 

    Books of Literary Note (20th Century)

    Literature Criticism Online
    Extensive archive of mostly scholarly, but also popular, criticism of 20th century literary works.  Full text is linked directly in the database.

        

      Investigating Scholarly Analysis and Critiques of Your Book

      Articles (and a Few Books)

      Academic Search Complete
      A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including media and communication. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      JSTOR
      A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.

      Literature Criticism Online
      Extensive archive of mostly scholarly, but also popular, criticism of 20th century literary works.  Full text is linked directly in the database.

      MLA International Bibliography
      Premier scholarly index to criticism in the areas of literature and language.  Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

      Project MUSE
      A database with scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.  Full text is linked directly in the database.

      Books (and a Few Articles)

      Searching for Books with Encompass Search

      Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box. 

      To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

      Searching for Books with Library Catalogs

      Search the Trexler Library Catalog to find out what books, government publications, journals, videos, etc. the library owns.

      GETTING THERE: Use the shortcut search box on the Library Homepage or Library Homepage  --  Library Catalogs (in the Quick Links box)  --  Trexler Library Catalog

      To find books held by other libraries, search WorldCat, a database of over 60 million library records from around the country and world. Use the ILL button to request a book from another library. (ILL can take 10-14 days.)

      GETTING THERE: Library Homepage  --  Library Catalogs (in Quick Links box)  --  Other Library Catalogs -- WorldCat

          

        Investigating the Social, Cultural, and Historical Context

        Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

        American Decades
        A set of reference books with overviews of U.S. history, politics, and culture by decade.
        Location: 973.92 A512d

        Credo Reference
        Hundreds of dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas, including many notable titles for anthropology.  Search across all titles in Credo or browse the tables of contents of specific titles (such as those below).  Full text is linked directly in the database.

        Encyclopedia of American Political History: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas
        Location: 320.973 E56

        Encyclopedia of American Social History
        Location: 301.0973 E56o

        Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century
        Location: 973.003 E56o

        Statistics

        Statistical Abstract of the United States
        The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Current and archived editions (1995- ) are available online, as well. Old print editions (1886- ) are in the Trexler Library Government Documents section starting at C 3.134:886.

        Articles (and a Few Books)

        Academic Search Complete
        A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including media and communication. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        America: History and Life
        A database of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, book reviews, dissertations, and more in U.S. and Canadian history. Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        Historical Abstracts with Full Text with Full Text
        A database of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapter, book reviews, dissertations, and more for world history (excluding U.S. and Canada). Some full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

        JSTOR
        A database of scholarly journals for most academic disciplines. The most recent three to five years of most journals are not included. Full text is linked directly in the database.

        Books (and a Few Articles)

        Searching for Books with Encompass Search

        Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more. Rather than searching in separate databases, Encompass Search helps you find resources from many catalogs and databases quickly and easily, all from a single search box. 

        To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

        Searching for Books with Library Catalogs

        Search the Trexler Library Catalog to find out what books, government publications, journals, videos, etc. the library owns.

        GETTING THERE: Use the shortcut search box on the Library Homepage or Library Homepage  --  Library Catalogs (in the Quick Links box)  --  Trexler Library Catalog

        To find books held by other libraries, search WorldCat, a database of over 60 million library records from around the country and world. Use the ILL button to request a book from another library. (ILL can take 10-14 days.)

        GETTING THERE: Library Homepage  --  Library Catalogs (in Quick Links box)  --  Other Library Catalogs -- WorldCat

            

          Citing Your Sources

          • For information on APA Style, see:
            • APA Style (Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College)
              Examples of in-text and reference list citation formatting.
            • APA Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
              General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
            • APA Documentation Guide (University of Wisconsin)
              General orientation to APA Style, plus examples of paper and citation formatting.
          • Zotero
            "Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.
              

            Need Help with Your Research?

            Contact:

            Jen Jarson
            Social Sciences Reference Librarian
            phone: 484-664-3552
            email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip