This is the "Home" page of the "Writing for the Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing for the Media  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.muhlenberg.edu/writingforthemedia Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Statistics: Selected Resources

NOTE: Statistics may be cited in news or magazine articles.  You may find it useful to follow up on the leads you find there.

  • American Factfinder
    A database from the U.S. Census Bureau with population, housing, and business statistics at the country, state, county, city, and zip code levels.
  • FedStats
    Links to official statistical information produced by the U.S. federal government. Browse by topic or agency or search across agency websites.
  • ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
    A data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Full access available only to Muhlenberg faculty, students, and staff who create accounts using their Muhlenberg email addresses.
  • National Center for Education Statistics
    Find statistics re. early childhood, elementary, secondary, and post-secondary education. From the U.S. Department of Education.
  • NCES Private School Search
    Find school and enrollment characteristics for private schools. From the National Center for Education Statistics.
  • NCES Public School Search
    Find enrollment, staff, fiscal, and other characteristics by public school and district. From the National Center for Education Statistics.
  • NCES State Education Data Profiles
    Search for statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states. From the National Center for Education Statistics.
  • PDE Data and Statistics
    Information about schools, student progress, graduation rates, school districts in Pennsylvania. From the Pennsylvania Department of Education.
  • Pew Research Center
    "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations.

Finding Public Opinion Data: Selected Resources

NOTE: Public opinion data may be cited in news or magazine articles.  You may find it useful to follow up on the leads you find there. 

  • Gallup
    Presents daily briefings on a single current topic, as well as recent Gallup Poll findings. See http://www.gallup.com/topic/higher_education.aspx for higher education related information.
  • Polling Report
    Biweekly overview of recent poll trends.
  • Pew Research Center
    "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
 

Finding News and Magazine Articles: Selected Resources

LIBRARY DATABASES

  • Academic Search Complete  
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. TO LIMIT TO JUST MAGAZINE AND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, look to the left sidebar on your search results screen under the Source Types area. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

  • LexisNexis Academic 
    A database of popular newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts, as well as business publications, legal materials, and more. Full text is linked directly in the database.

WEBSITES

Finding Scholarly Articles: Selected Library Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. TO LIMIT TO JUST SCHOLARLY ARTICLES, look to the left sidebar on your search results screen under the Source Types area. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Get It links to check for full text online or in the library.
  • Subject Guides
    Subject Guides point you toward recommended resources in each subject area. Choose the subject area(s) that most closely align with your topic. Look in the subject guide(s) for recommendations of library databases to use to search for scholarly articles in that subject.

Need Help with Your Research?

Contact:

Jen Jarson
Social Sciences Reference Librarian
phone: 484-664-3552
email: jarson@muhlenberg.edu

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip