Last Updated: Aug 17, 2016
Humanities & Business Librarian
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
- Credo Reference
Library subscription. Several hundred online encyclopedias by reputable publishers. Good for topic-finding, narrowing, and bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia Judaica
Encyclopedia Judaica is made available to the community through the generosity of the Bureau of Jewish Education and its donors.
- Encyclopedia Judaica (2nd ed., 2007)
(Trexler Library Reference Collection 296.03 E56j)
Signed entries by invited contributors. Good for topic-finding and topic-narrowing.
A communally-written encyclopedia. Anyone can edit or contribute an entry, at any time. Excellent for locating controversies on a topic and getting ideas for research papers. The bibliographies often point to scholarly resources. Not itself a scholarly source per se, with no authority control. Compare with Scholarpedia.
- Encompass Search
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
- Google Books
Good for primary documents pre-1923 that are out of copyright.
- Academic Search Complete
A subscription database. Good starting place for journals, and includes the full text of about 3000 journals. Limit to "peer reviewed" to find only scholarly articles. Back issues of journals begin as early as 1990. Recent issues may not be included yet, due to publisher agreement. Journals held in Trexler Library are marked accordingly.
- Google Scholar
A free resource. Use with caution, as not all resources are in fact scholarly.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
A subscription database. Standard index for European history. Some full text.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
A subscription database. Standard index for scholarship on Jewish religion and culture. Some full text.
Archive from Stanford University of scholarly journals in all subject areas.
Free index of scholarship on Jewish religion and culture.