Subject Guides: Scholars at Risk: Legal Information

Selected Reference Materials

Credo Reference
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Handbook of International Law by Anthony Aust
Call Number: 341 A932h
ISBN: 9780521117050
Publication Date: 2010-04-01

Selected Websites and Databases for Legal Information

Specific Courts and Legislative Bodies

Eur-Lex
Access to law of the European Union.
International Court of Justice
United Nations: International Law
International Legal Materials
Primary Source Materials

Treaties and Other Documents

Gateway Sites

ISN: International Relations and Security Network
Legal Information Institute, Law by Source: Global (Cornell University)
The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.
World Legal Information Institute
Access to worldwide law.
International Case Law (european e-justice)
Harvard Law Library LibGuide
Extensive list of links to public resources. Caution: journals, ebooks, and databases included on this site are only accessible by students of Harvard University. Search the Trexler Library for access to the same resource or contact the library for help.
The University of Melbourne LibGuide
Extensive list of links to public resources. Caution: journals, ebooks, and databases included on this site are only accessible by students of the University of Melbourne. Search the Trexler Library for access to the same resource or contact the library for help.

Finding Articles

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A database of scholarly journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and more in the area of international affairs theory and research. Full text is linked directly in the database.
HeinOnline
Fully searchable government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals.
HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase,
PAIS Index
PAIS Index is an index of scholarship and research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It contains citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
PAIS Index combines two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International is the electronic version and continuation of the print publications PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index, and their predecessor titles. PAIS Archive is the electronic version of the print publication PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin and its predecessor titles. By combining these two databases, PAIS Index contains all PAIS indexing from 1915 - present.
Security Studies
Includes academic and policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues, from a global perspective. Spans a range of disciplines and covers topics such as cybersecurity, foreign policy, human security, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and terrorism & political violence. Full text journals, documents, and reports.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Government Documents

Trexler Library receives approximately 30% of the materials published by the United States government. These are cataloged and can be found by searching the Encompass Search. The following are a few titles that might be particularly useful:

Cumulative Digest of United States Practice in International Law. Washington, DC: Office of the Legal Adviser, Dept. of State, 1993-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12/3:981-88/BK.1-3 (Level A)

Digest of United States Practice in International Law. Washington, D.C. : Office of the Legal Adviser, Dept. of State, 1974-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12/3: (Level A)
Library owns 1973-1980

Hackworth, Green Haywood. Digest of International Law. Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 1940-1944.
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12:943/ (Level A)
Library owns v.1-8

Treaties in Force: A List of Treaties and other International Acts of the United States in Force on .... Washington : U.S. G.P.O., 1944-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 9.14: (Level A)
Library owns 1956-present
Issues Online: Search Encompass Search by title

United States. United States Treaties and other International Agreements. Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State, 1952-
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 9.12:1 (Level A)
Library owns v.1-

United States. Treaties and other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 compiled under the direction of Charles I. Bevans. Washington: Dept. of State, 1968-76.
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 9.12/2: (Level A)
Library owns v.1-13

Whiteman, Marjorie M. Digest of International Law. Washington, U.S. Dept. of State, 1963-73.
Location: U.S. Government Documents S 7.12/2: (Level A)
Library owns v.1-10