Subject Guides: Gender, Politics & Policy: Home

Finding Background Information

SELECTED REFERENCE SOURCES

The American Woman, 1992-1993 by Paula Ries (Editor); Anne J. Stone (Editor)
ISBN: 0393031101
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
The Book of the States
Call Number: 353.9 B724
Publication Date: 1950-2016
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by Lynn Walter (Editor-In-Chief); Amy Lind; Manisha Desai; Cheryl Toronto Kalny; Bahira Sherif-Trask; Aili Mari Tripp
Call Number: 305.4203 G816e v.1-6
ISBN: 0313327874
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
Martindale-Hubbell law digest.
Call Number: 348.026 M385L
Publication Date: 2006
Men and Masculinities by Michael S. Kimmel; Amy Aronson
Call Number: 305.3103 K49m
ISBN: 1576077748
Publication Date: 2003-12-11
Sexuality and the Law by Arthur S. Leonard (Editor)
Call Number: 346.73013 L581s
ISBN: 082403421X
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Jeffrey Lehman; Shirelle Phelps
Call Number: 349.7303 W538e
ISBN: 0787663670
Publication Date: 2004-08-27

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.

Encyclopedia of women and gender: Sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
a notable title from Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
a notable title from Credo Reference

Selected Websites

Center for American Women and Politics
from the Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Center for Women in Government & Civil Society
from the University at Albany, SUNY
Gender and Democracy
from the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA)

News Sources

Finding Books

Encompass Search finds information by searching through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines, dissertations, conference proceedings, music, video, maps, and more.

To find only books, use the Books limit on the left sidebar of your search results page. Many items will be in Trexler Library; note the call number and status of the item to check its location and availability. For items not in Trexler Library, use the Interlibrary Loan to request a copy from another library.

Finding Secondary Sources: Journal Articles

Subject-Specific Databases: Political Science & International Relations

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index is an index of scholarship and research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It contains citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more from on domestic and international political, economic, social and public policy issues. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
PAIS Index combines two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International is the electronic version and continuation of the print publications PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index, and their predecessor titles. PAIS Archive is the electronic version of the print publication PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin and its predecessor titles. By combining these two databases, PAIS Index contains all PAIS indexing from 1915 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations from scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, policy briefs, government publications, and more in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly journals in sociology, psychology, political science, health, social work, education, and more. Use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A database of scholarly journals published by Sage, providing wide coverage in all disciplines, but particularly the social sciences. Full text for articles published 1999 to the present is linked directly in the database; otherwise, search the library catalog by journal titles to check for full text online or in the library.

Finding Primary Sources: Government Documents

U.S. Government

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Information from the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills from 1989 on, public laws from 1988 on, committee reports from 1990 on, House and Senate documents from 1995 on, Congressional Record from 1985 on, Federal Register from 1980 on, and more government information.

U.S. Code
Easy access to federal law through Cornell Law School.

Other Nations

Governments of the World Wide Web
Legal Information Institute, Law by Source
The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International Law.
WashLaw Web: Foreign and International Law
From the Washburn University School of Law Library. This site provides a tremendous number of links as well as access to foreign and international legal resources and research tools. It's especially strong on finding legal materials from specific countries (i.e. Nigerian law).
World Legal Information Institute
Organized by country and then by subject.

Finding Primary Sources: News

See a list of all article databases via the Library Homepage -- Research -- Databases A-Z

For news from the late 1980s / early 1990s to the present...

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.

For news pre late 1980s / early 1990s...

Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States for the period 1890-1982.
Gender: Identity and Social Change (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
"Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics."
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender features a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Trexler Library has access to three parts of the archives; LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts 1 and 2 plus Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Century.
"LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I" brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.
"Part II" adds oral history transcripts, diaries, and letters that provide a deeply personal and human interpretation of the LGBTQ experience and less mainstream LGBTQ groups such as student groups, Two-Spirit people, the Jewish LGBTQ community, LG Christian groups, and bisexual, transvestite, and transgender communities.
"Sex and Sexuality" is a collection of books in the natural and social sciences as well as literary works and humanities. Books examine topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology.

Finding Primary Sources: Statistical Information

Women's Changing Role by Gale Research Staff
Call Number: 305.420973 A393w
ISBN: 0787663654
Publication Date: 2002-04-01

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor
American Community Survey
from the US Census Bureau
Data.gov
"the home of the U.S. Government's open data"
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial times to 1970

How do I get the full text of my article?

To get the full text of an article, consider the following options:

- If you are in Encompass Search or a library database, look for "Check for Full Text buttons," "Access Online," or "Check eResources" buttons. These buttons will take you the full text of the article or tell you that the full text cannot be found. If the full text is not available from Trexler Library, look for buttons to request the item from another library via interlibrary loan. Or go directly to the interlibrary loan request forms.

- If you have citation information for the article (i.e., journal title, article title, publication year, etc.), type the information about your article in Encompass Search on the library website. If the library subscribes to the full text, you will be directed to the article (see first bullet above). If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

- If Trexler Library does not have access to the full text of the article, search Google Scholar by article title to see if the author has made a copy freely available online. If not, you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.

Citing Your Sources

Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Find in print- Ready Reference 808.027 C632m

Up-To-Date Trexler Library Reference

Zotero
"Free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources." Download instructions and help available on the site.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

For help writing your annotated bibliography, consult the following resources:

Writing Annotated Bibliographies
from the Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College
Annotated Bibliographies
from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill