Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
Getting to the full text
Once you have found the citation of a journal article you're interested in, click on the Check for Full Text buttons found next to the citation, or run a journal title search in Trexler Library's Encompass Search.
How can I narrow my topic and identify seminal scholarly works?
Hundreds of authoritative dictionaries, encyclopedias, fact books, guides, companions and more from respected publishers across dozens of major subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Useful in particular for the reference lists that accompany many of the entries: popular and sometimes scholarly sources.
How do I locate scholarly books on my topic?
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
How do I locate scholarly articles (chapters or journal articles) on my topic?
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Index to research literature in world religions and related studies, with many links to full text.
Free search engine for books and journal articles in all disciplines.Links may take you to free full text, or search the library's site for full text access.
A substantive archive of about 3,000 full text scholarly journals plus scholarly books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and biological sciences. As an archive, there is typically a lag time of 3-5 years from publication until new issues appear in JSTOR. Journals include core titles from a variety of disciplines: history, economics, biology, and more.
How do I locate authoritative news articles?
Articles and books via interlibrary loan