Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
Humanities & Business Librarian
How do I obtain primary sources (popular perspectives of the time)?
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Features a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Trexler Library has access to two parts of the archives. One is "LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part 1" which draws from major international and local activist groupsc plus historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The collection also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. The other part of the archive available is "Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century" which comprises more than five thousand rare and unique books covering sex, sexuality, and gender issues across the sciences and humanities and throughout history. The collection examines topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology. It not only offers a reflection of the cultural and social attitudes of the past, but also a window into how sexuality and gender roles were viewed and changed over time.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Useful in particular for searching on pre-1923 documents for which the full text is likely available.
An excellent source for full-text of primary documents as they appear in public domain (pre-1923) books and magazines.
Thousands of older books, useful as primary documents, scanned by libraries throughout the U.S.
"...a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
Life Magazine Archive
"Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. "
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Colonial to 1950. Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Full text journals available for searching include: Harper's Magazine, The Progressive, the New Leader, Dissent, American Spectator, Orion Magazine, The Nation, The New Republic, The New Yorker, The National Review, Washington Monthly, The Weekly Standard, LaFollette's Magazine, Commonweal, Commentary, NY Review of Books, Moment, Americas Quarterly.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Includes full text of the following publications:
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
The New York Times with Index (1851-2014)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2000)
The Washington Post (1877-2001)
Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th- through early 21st-centuries centuries, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment and advertising. The Times Digital Archive makes this highly regarded resource available in an easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable online resource containing every page of every issue within the range of years displayed in the product banner.
The Vogue Archive
"The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to present, with monthly updates for new issues."
How do I obtain primary sources (scientific/medical/government perspectives of the time)?
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948 and links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
A trial database with access until 2/12/2020. Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through government/expert correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more.
Access the journal Science from the years 1800-2004 online, or access 2004-present (paper copies of the journal) on level B of the library at call number 505s1.
What about secondary sources (historian perspectives)?
America: History & Life with Full Text
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Full text journals include American Historical Review, American 19th Century History, American Studies, Early American Studies, Journal of American Culture, Journal of American History, Journal of Early American History, and Journal of Military History.
Academic Search Complete
A database of both scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, including psychology. Most full text is linked directly in the database; otherwise use the Check for Full Text buttons to check for full text online or in the library.
Encompass Search searches for books and other resources, first in our own library, and then beyond, in other research libraries.
May be used in conjunction with interlibrary loan. Access to full text is maximized by searching from the Muhlenberg network.
Google Books is a rich source of full-text documents (books and other materials) published prior to 1923 that are now in the public domain.
Articles and books via interlibrary loan