Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Muhlenberg College open access
Publishers' copyright policies and self-archiving
SHERPA RoMEO is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis.
Adjust your publisher contract for open access
Attach this SPARC addendum to your publisher contract to negotiate for open access through self-archiving.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material. A DOAJ Membership is a clear statement of intent and proves a commitment to quality, peer-reviewed open access.
IngentaConnect is a distributor of content from academic journals.The site hosts a free directory of academic journals, that may be browsed by discipline. For each journal, IngentaConnect displays Tables of Content and also provides a link to publisher websites.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
"The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography."
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
"Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more." Includes open access journals. Many journals are reviewed here, allowing a quick assessment of influence/impact in a given discipline.
CWTS Journal Indicators
The source normalized impact per publication (SNIP), calculated as the number of citations given in the present year to publications in the past three years divided by the total number of publications in the past three years.
Rates journals based on the impact on the scientific community. The citation data used at Eigenfactor.org come from Thomson Scientific's Journal Citation Reports (JCR). The JCR provides detailed information about more than 8,000 journals in the sciences and social sciences which are indexed in the Thomson-Reuters Web of Science citation database.
Scimago Journal and Country Rank
Developed by SCImago using the Google PageRank™ algorithm, the website retrieves information for various indicators from the Scopus database. It is free, easily accessible, publicly available, and it makes finding and understanding journal rankings easy! The focus is on the sciences, but other disciplines are represented to some extent.
ERIHPlus European Reference Index for the Humanities and Social Sciences
"Our goal is to enhance the global visibility of high-quality research in the humanities and social sciences across Europe, and to facilitate access to research journals published in all European languages. The ERIH PLUS index encompasses the original ERIH lists, which initially only covered the humanities disciplines. The new reference index is called ERIH PLUS, in order to indicate that the list has been extended to also include social science disciplines."
A site for the University Grants Commission in India that monitors journal quality worldwide. Search from their site to see if the journal in question is listed in any of the included indices, thus qualifying it as legitimate. NOTE: You need to register to use the site. When prompted for a mobile phone number, enter 944 plus any 7 additional digits.
Finding a publisher for your book
AUP subject grid for university presses
Published annually in the Association of University Presses Directory, the Association also makes the Subject Area Grid available as a free download. The grid indicates the subject areas in which each member press has a strong interest.
Directory of academic book publishers with descriptions of their scope, and submission guidelines.
Altmetric for Researchers
Use these free tools to track who's talking about your research. Begin collating the online mentions and shares of your research across the sources Altmetric tracks as soon as it’s published, meaning you can get almost immediate feedback on how it’s being received long before any citation data becomes available.
, American Studies
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German Studies
, Information Science
, International Studies
, Italian Studies
, Jewish Studies
, Philosophy / Political Thought
, Political Economy & Public Policy
, Russian Studies
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. Registering for an ORCID ID is free.